Our Kidsafe NT Board

Board AGM October 2015

Byron Henderson has extensive experience in corporate strategy, leadership, sales,
service and digital.  He has held Senior positions as the CEO of the Automobile Association of Northern
Territory Inc (AANT) and is currently a Director of Kidsafe Australia as the NT representative. Prior
to this he held senior positions at Territory Insurance Office (TIO), Bank of Queensland (BOQ) and
National Australia Bank (NAB). 

Michael Murray is the currently a Lending Manager for BankSA, Treasurer at the Rotary Club of Darwin
and (volunteer) Operations Manager of Emergency Services NT after working as the Northern Territory Government
Account Manager for 
Fuji Zerox and Business Banking Officer at Bendigo and Adelaide Banks.
His career in the financial sector began in the Royal Australian Air force (HR and Finance). He has
since worked in various senior banking roles and as Top End Financial Literacy Coordinator at
Australian Red Cross providing information, support and advocacy to assist clients in financial
difficulty. In the past he was appointed Business Manager for a Aboriginal child services agency
and Bank Manager at Groote Eylandt. He has a strong interest in community development initiatives
and improved service provision to regional and remote Aboriginal communities. He is committed
to community service and is Treasurer of the Rotary Club of Darwin.

Vice Chairperson: Shaan Novak is (Acting) Director - Regulation and Compliance NT Department of
Transport. She provides advice to executive management on regulatory, compliance and policy
issues throughout the Territory. In her various roles with the Department, Shaan has
provided leadership and management to the Public Transport Branch including policy development
for the provision of safe, accessible public transport infrastructure for residents and visitors to
the NT. Previously she worked as Manager Road Safety, Dept. Transport, providing leadership
and management of Road Safety education activities across the NT in conjunction with other
NTG key agencies and stakeholders. She is passionate about child accident prevention particularly
in the area of road safety including transporting children safely, pedestrian and cycling safety. 

Board member: David Read is a General Surgeon and the Director of Trauma and Burns at the
National Critical Care and Trauma Response Centre (NCCTRC) at the Royal Darwin Hospital.
He has a very broad based surgical practice but has a particular interest in Trauma and Burns,
Surgical Oncology and Paediatric Surgery. He has also been involved in the RDH response to
the Bali bombings and East Timor, Ashmore Reef. He recently deployed as the General
Surgeon on Team Alpha of the AusMAT Team to Tacloban after Typhoon Haiyan. He is the
Northern Territory representative on the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons Trauma Committee
and Disaster Preparedness Committee. He has extensive experience in Indigenous Health issues
and has an interest in the delivery of specialist services to remote Indigenous communities. 

Board Member: Dr Keith Edwards served as Chair of Kidsafe NT from 2002 until September
2012 and continues to contribute as a Board Member. He is currently the Community Paediatrician
at Centre for Disease Control (CDC), a specialist paediatrician at Royal Darwin Hospital (RDH),
a Senior Lecturer in Child Health, Flinders University and adjunct Senior Research Fellow at
Charles Darwin University. As the Section Head for Community Paediatrics in CDC he supervises
the community paediatric registrar. At RDH Dr Edwards covers paediatric teaching and ward
service and is on-call for 3 months of the year. He is responsible for provision of regular
paediatric outreach clinics to 12 Top End communities. He also undertakes weekly clinics in RDH
and urban clinics in Darwin and has worked closely with the Menzies School of Health
Research supporting operational research into health problems affecting Northern Territory children.

Secretary: Ray Fauntleroy

Public Officer: Michael Lloyd

Board Member: Claire Addinsall

Board Member: Paul Robertson